TYPES OF HAJJ: Different Types Of Hajj In Islam to Perform Hadj

Hajj FAQS by Editorial Staff (May 28, 04:51 AM)

          Hajj is obligatory (Wajib) on every sane and adult Muslim, male or female once in life if able physically or financially according to Islam. Where Islam orders to obtain Hajj as obligatory, Islam also refers the Sunnah of Beloved Prophet Muhammad Rasool Allah Sallalla-O-Alaih-e-Wasallim to seek the method or way of performing the Hajj, as Rasool Allah SAAW said,

“Take from me your rites of pilgrimage.”

And Allah Subhana Wa Ta’ala says in Quran,

O you who believe! Give you response to Allah and His Messenger, when He calls you to that which will give your life.

[Quran 8:24]

So may dear Muslim, according to the respected scholars of Islam, the Hajj can be performed in three different ways proven from the prophet of Islam SAAW, namely Tamattu', Qiran and Ifraad. Read the following passage that defines three of types of Hajj in Islam i.e. three methods to perform Hajj, remembering that all of these methods are permissible and allowed.

  • Tamattu`

The literal meaning of Tamattu is to reap profit. And legislative, legal and Shara’i meaning of Tamattu’ is performing `Umrah during the Hajj season. The explanation of hajj-e-tamattu’ is when the pilgrim (Haji) unable to bring animal of sacrificing with him/her, then Tamattu` becomes compulsory on Muslim.

It is during the Hajj season that a pilgrim expresses at the Meeqat his intention of performing the Umrah alone and then enters into the Ihram. And immediately upon arrival at Makkah he performs Twaf, Saee or walk between Al-Safa and Al-Marwah,shave the head or cut off a lock of hair. Once the Umrah is completed, one can come out of the Ihram and all the prohibitions have now been lifted from him.

He can dress as he wishes use perfume and avail all facilities allowed to him by religion till 8th of ZilHajjah. As Allah says in Quran,

"If any one wishes to continue the Umra on to the Hajj, he must make an offering such as he can afford, but if he cannot afford it, he should fast three days during the Hajj and seven days on his return, making ten days in all. This is for those whose household is not in (the precincts of) the Sacred Mosque, and fear Allah, and know that Allah, is strict in punishment."(2:196)

  • Qiran

The second type of the hajj is Hajj-e-Qiran which means to combine Hajj and 'Umrah according to Sharai term excluded by the scholars of Islam from Islamic sources. As for the explanation, Qiran hajj depicts that the pilgrim (Haji) should intend to perform both Hajj and `Umrah together.

Unlike to Tamattu, pilgrim (Haji) is not allowed to end the state of Ihraam after Sa'ay in Hajj-e-Qiran.  Moreover, the pilgrim (Haji) will not have to perform the Ifadah Tawaf on the 10th of Zill-Hijj and the Sa'y, because it is already performed for both Hajj and `Umrah. However, the pilgrim (Haji) must have to bring animal for sacrificing, because the rituals of Hajj and `Umrah were joined together.

  • Ifraad

The 3rd type of Hajj is Ifraad hajj which means the pilgrim (Haji) declares his intention for Hajj only. The pilgrim (Haji) maintains his Ihraam till the Day of Sacrificing the animal, where no animal sacrifice offering is required from him/her.

These were the three types of Hajj in Islamic rulings, where Hajj-e-Tamattu` is most recommended and permissible in Islam. Also, Prophet Muhammad SAAW more encouraged Hajj-e-Tamattu` compared to other types.

Leave Comments

loading comments form ...