Halal Food Definition - Explanation of Halal Food in Islamic Terminologies and Traditions
Halal Food Definition: Halal mean permitted or allowed, where halal food defined as a food which is lawful to eat and use. The term ‘halal’ is mostly associated with Islam. And in Islam, halal is mostly used for food that is allowed to eat and use in Islamic Sharia Law. However, it is also used for other things which are lawful for Muslims to practice such as the women who are in Nikah i.e. marriage!
Allah SWT says in Quran,
“…And so are the virtuous women of the believers and the virtuous women of those who received the Scripture before you (lawful for you) when ye give them their marriage portions…” (Al-Ma'idah:5)
Halal is a term widely used by Islam and Muslim Jurists. Halal categorize all the permitted actions, foods and intentions namely Fard (Compulsory), Mandoob or Mustahib (Recommended), Mubah (Allowed), and Makruh (Disliked but not forbidden). All these five Ahkam-Asshariyah comprise in Halal except the fifth one that is Haraam (forbidden).
Thus, Halal Food can be compulsory to eat at times, recommended to eat or use, allowed to be on choice to use and eat or not, and disliked to be used or eat in due to its type or circumstances. But the food which is forbidden (Haraam) to eat or use in Islam cannot be said Halal.
According to the Islamic principle, every food in general is Halal (Permissible) to use and eat except those which are declared forbidden in Quran, Sunnah and in other Islamic sources of legislation with respect to their view. Allah SWT says in the Holy Quran,
“Therefore eat of what allah has given you, lawful and good (things), and give thanks for allah's favor if him do you serve” (AN-NAHL:114)
Moreover, traditionally, halal food is also denoted to the meat which is processed through halal way of killing the animal i.e. slaughtering in correct Islamic method. However, there is not great difference in the method of slaughtering the halal animal in Islam and Judaism. That’s why Muslims are allowed to eat the slaughtered (Dhabiha or Zabiha) of Jewish peoples if the animal is slaughtered in accordance with Judaism.
“forbidden to you is that which dies of itself, and blood, and flesh of swine, and that on which any other name than that of Allah has been invoked, and the strangled (animal) and that beaten to death, and that killed by a fall and that killed by being smitten with the horn, and that which wild beasts have eaten, except what you slaughter, and what is sacrificed on stones set up (for idols) and that you divide by the arrows; that is a transgression…”(AL-MAEDA:3)
Thus, this was the definition and comprehension of the term Halal food in Islam and in Islamic traditions.